We are one of a very few providers in South Australia who delivers CHC43515 Certificate IV in Mental Health Peer Work. This qualification reflects the role of workers who have lived experience of mental distress and recovery as either a consumer or carer.

Our learners come from all walks of life and are supported to role model recovery and peer work values and principles of hope, mutuality, connection, empowerment and accountability. 


The only pre-requisite for this qualification is ‘lived experience’. However for those who are new to the industry and currently not employed in lived experience roles we strongly recommend Mental Health Coalition of South Australia (MHCSA)’s 4 day Orientation program run prior to every intake. This is program is free of cost.

What is ‘lived experience’?

Lived experience, is person’s individual journey of mental distress and recovery. Quoting directly from the National Lived Experience (Peer) Workforce Development Guidelines  ‘Lived Experience roles, regardless of position type or level of authority, are distinguished by a commitment to using lived experience to benefit others, uphold human rights and achieve systems transformation’. 

What is Peer Work?

Peer work is a profession which uses person’s lived experiences as a skillset to support and empower others to live their best life. Key values and principles are as follows:

  • Hope
  • Mutuality
  • Equity/equality
  • Choice
  • Authenticity
  • Belonging/inclusion

Guiding principles are:

  • Self-determination
  • Person-directed
  • Humanistic
  • Relational and Trauma informed


Centacare’s RTO is currently delivering this qualification in Adelaide metropolitan area.

If the entire course appears too much, but you would like to see whether Peer Work is for you, you always have the option to complete the CHCSS00103 Mental Health Peer Work skill set. This skill set reflects the skill requirements for peer workers entering the mental health workforce and is incorporated in the full qualification.

The next intake for Adelaide metropolitan area will be in August/September 2024. For further enquiries or to register your interest please contact us on rtoenrolment@centacare.org.au

This qualification is delivered with support from the Mental Health Coalition of South Australia. More information of pathways into this qualification and peer workforce can be found here https://mhcsa.org.au/lived-experience-workforce-program/​​​​​​​

Units of Competency

The Certificate IV consists of 15 units of competency, 8 core units and 7 electives.  Units will be delivered in the order listed below.​​​​​

Unit codeUnit titleCore/Elective
1CHCPWK004 Work effectively in consumer mental health peer workElective
2CHCPWK001 Apply peer work practices in mental health sectorCore
3CHCPWK003 Apply lived experience in mental health peer workCore
4CHCPWK002 Contribute to the continuous improvement of mental health services for consumers and carersCore
5CHCLEG001Work legally and ethicallyElective
6CHCDIV001 Work with diverse peopleCore
7HLTWHS006 Manage personal stressors in the work environmentElective
8HLTWHS001 Participate in workplace health and safetyCore
9CHCMHS011 Assess and promote social, emotional and physical wellbeingCore
10CHCCCS003 Increase the safety of individuals at risk of suicideElective
11CHCMHS007 Work effectively in trauma informed careCore
12CHCMHS003 Provide recovery oriented mental health servicesElective
13CHCMHS008 Promote and facilitate self-advocacyCore
14CHCGRP002 Plan and conduct group activitiesElective
15CHCGRP001 Support group activitiesElective

What will the timetable look like?

All units of competency will have a self-paced component to your study. 

Some units are clustered, and others are in ‘groupings’ and these will be delivered in 5 blocks throughout the year. These blocks will be delivered every 6-8 weeks with 3 full day face to face intensives. They will be scheduled during business hours, Monday to Friday.

You will have access to online e-learning materials which you can complete at times that suit you – within guidelines. All assessments will be due 6 weeks after the face-to-face delivery.

Assessment and Work Placement

Assessment methods for this course includes a theory component and a mandatory practical work placement component of 80 hours. Placement hours must be completed to achieve competency in the units and successfully complete the course.

Learners must complete additional training and obtain the required Government screening checks prior to commencing work placement. Any associated fees will be provided to learners prior to confirmation of enrolment.

This may include:

  • Working with Children check
  • NDIS worker check
  • Vulnerable person-related employment check
  • Safe environments – Through their eyes training
  • Employer specific induction or onboarding training

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) & Credit Transfer (CT)

RPL is a process that assesses your competency—acquired through formal and informal learning—to determine if you meet the requirements for a unit of competency.

Credit transfer may be granted for units completed with another RTO.

Contact the RTO for more information.

Fees and funding

Contact the RTO for the current fee schedule for this qualification. This qualification is currently on the subsidised training list, and the cost is $750, plus $100 non-refundable enrolment fee. There may be further cost associated with the RPL/CT processes as well as compulsory training.

For any further information, please contact the RTO team on rtoenrolment@centacare.org.au

Back to service list